Chuck Lorre to be awarded the Producers Guild award

The Producers Guild announced today that the writer and producer Chuck Lorre will receive the Norman Lear Achievement Award in Television at the upcoming Producers Guild Awards.  Lorre who owns four of the famous shows, ‘The Big Bang Theory’, ‘Two and a Half Men’, ‘Mike & Molly’ and’ Mom’ will be honored at the Beverly Hilton Hotel in Los Angeles in Jan.

Lorre said, “Norman Lear is a legend in this business and one of comedy’s true kings. I have to admit that I’ve been tongue-tied and star struck just standing in the same room with him. Needless to say, being associated with his artistry, much less to be honored in his name, is both humbling and inspiring — and more than a little embarrassing. I’m deeply grateful to the Producers Guild for acknowledging my work in this extraordinary fashion.”

 J.J. Abrams, David E. Kelley, Tom Hanks, Lorne Michaels, Dick Wolf, Steven Bochco and many others have been the previous winners of this prestigious award.

PGA Awards head Lori McCreary and Michael De Luca said in a statement, “Chuck Lorre has produced some of the most iconic television shows of our time, including Dharma & Greg, The Big Bang Theory and Two and a Half Men, just to mention a few. These series have impacted television on a level that we rarely see. In a TV landscape that often feels saturated with homogenized, interchangeable series, his distinctive voice and commitment to vivid, one-of-a-kind characters have made him one of the true mainstays of our weekly television schedule. Lorre is the definition of an iconic comedy producer and we are so pleased to honor him this year with the Norman Lear Achievement Award in Television.”

One can be sure that Lorne totally deserves the award as all his shows have changed the face of television and all the actors of his show have gone on to make career in movies too.

Pin It

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>