Sonakshi Sinha and Kamal Haasan open the prestigious Mumbai Film Fest 2013

The extremely prestigious Mumbai Film Fest 2013 was held on October 17th. The fest witnessed a splendid opening at the Liberty cinema in Mumbai. The very beautiful MFF has been presented by Reliance Entertainment. The fest is scheduled to go on for eight days. More than 200 movies across the world will be screened at the fest, but special focus will be given on Spanish, Cambodian and French cinema.

Bollywood celebrities such as Sonakshi Sinha, Tisca Chopra, Nandita Das, Divya Dutta and Konkana Sen were present at the 15th edition of Mumbai Film Festival 2013 (MFF). Along with these celebrities filmmakers like, Bruce Beresford, Siddiq Barmark, Deepa Mehta, Waris Hussein, Roger Garcia and Asghar Farhadi attended the fest.

French Filmmaker Costa Gavras who is very well known for his politically astute films was honoured with the life time achievement award. Also the very talented actor-filmmaker Kamal Haasan was honoured the life time achievement award. Costa Gavras was presented the award by Shyam Benegal while Maharashtra Chief Minister Prithviraj Chavan handed over the award to Kamal Haasan.

The 80 year old Gavras said,“Awards like these give me the strength to continue making films. I would like to see more Indian films in France going forward. We are working towards it.”On the other hand Kamal Haasan dedicated his award to Tamil Filmmaker, K Balachander. Kamal added, “Many believe that Balachander discovered me, but I believe he invented me. It’s because of teachers like him I’m successful and I dedicate this award to him.”

The opening of the film was marked by Lee Daniel’s historical fictional-drama, ‘The Butler’ starring Forest Whitaker and Oprah Winfrey while the closing ceremony on October 24 will screen Bill Condon’s, ‘The Fifth Estate.’


Pin It

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>